System background: 11 months ago I purchased the computer parts (high-quality 600W PSU(Power Supplying Unit), Chassis, Motherboard, 2x1GB RAM(Random Access Memory) and another 2x1GB puchased a few months later, AMD dual-core processor, Nvidia 8800GTS (640mb), two HDDs(Hard Disk Drive) for 10000 SEK (about 1070 Euros), and built it together and installed XP x64. I have experienced an annoyingly high number of BSODs(Blue Screen of Death) and crashes with this system, but since I had Win2000 on my previous computer, I thought it was mostly because of XP. If I remember correctly Linux worked moderately well at first, but some time Linux started rebooting/freezing almost instantly after logging in. Eventually (in April this year, I believe), I got pissed enough at the high rate of BSODs in XP to get Vista (also x64), and Vista ran more stable

This is where Vista reboots. After testing different combinations of my 4x1GB RAM, I managed to go past this screen and see the mouse pointer. Then it rebooted nonetheless.

This is where Vista reboots. After testing different combinations of my 4x1GB RAM, I managed to go past this screen and see the mouse pointer. Then it rebooted nonetheless.

for me.

Yesterday evening, I got a BSOD. This is in itself not uncommon, but since then, Vista has simply rebooted during the boot process. Except in Safe Mode. Even while loading the Vista DVD into RAM I am welcomed by different BSODs (ntfs.sys, two other .sys files, and IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL_TO)! I didn’t even know that could happen. New things to learn every day.. sigh.. XP seems to workas before though. Linux (Ubuntu) crashes right after I log in, but that has happened before on this system.

If I was looking for technical support I wouldn’t have posted this here, but feel free to comment with tips. To be honest I am simply expressing my frustration: When you purchase a computer system for 1070 euros, you want it to work better than this. Now I’m fed up. I’m going to replace the parts, starting with the motherboard and RAM, until it helps.